Two Blondes Walk Into A Rental Car Agency

two blonds rental car agencyI have spent a good portion of my life trying to off-set the dumb blonde jokes and stereotypes. Only to finally arrive at a point where I think either it’s me or there is something different about being blonde. I’d like to think it’s just me. Otherwise, I’ll have every other blonde in the world writing me hate mail or telling me I’ve leaped into the dark side – um, make that the brunette side.

Anyway, here is my most recent blonde escapade. I can say two blondes because I’m with hubby who also happens to be blonde (Someone explain to me why blonde jokes and stereotypes only apply to females).  In this case…

Two blondes walk into a rental car agency. The male of the species gets a red (according to the tag) Chevy Cruze. I call it terra-cotta. On the Chevy website, it’s called Autumn Metallic. Why is this important?  It’s not, but calling the car red bothers the hell out of me and I can’t let it drop.  I mean, think about this. You are in a strange place in a rental car and you can’t find it. Someone asks, “well, what color is it?”  And you say RED. Look at the picture of the car! Would you go get me THAT CAR?

After sensing hubby’s frustration at my figuring out just the right-color adjective to describe our car (In his defense, I can be a bit obsessive at times and it was about midnight after a long flight), I decided to plug my phone into the car jack to recharge.

This car has a combination computer system in the dashboard that does a number of things. None of which is clear and there are no instructions.

Hubby says, “Find something on the radio. Looks like, it’s got one of those satellite radio features. You might find some station you really like. ” Hubby gets out of the car to pump gas and get a couple drinks from the local Kangaroo store (it’s a mini-mart gas station, in no-way selling kangas or roos).

I turned on the radio. There is no way in hell I’m getting any music. It wants to do something. I don’t know what. It asks my permission to do something else. What the hell? Okay, little whatever-you-are-in-the-dashboard-computer-thinky, go for it.

Hubby returns to the car with two sodas and a couple candy bars. “Did you find something?”

“No.”

“Oh well. I guess we’ll just have to figure it out tomorrow when we are less tired.”

All of the sudden the whatever-you-are-in-the-dashboard-computer-thinky comes to life and starts playing the song from the Pirates of the Caribbean ride. You know the one that goes, Yo, ho, Yo, ho, a pirate’s life for me….  Now we both think that is pretty awesome. Here we are in Disney country and the radio somehow picked up some Disney song.

I’m listening and thinking this is really remarkable.  I’ve never heard the Yo Ho song on the radio and Johnny Depp is doing the singing!  Oh my g-d! Johnny Depp released his version of the Yo Ho song! How did I, a member of just about every Disney blog and web site out there and fan of Johnny Depp miss that? Sh-t! Well, I now know it exists.

Hubby and I laugh about that and sing a bar or two.  Tomorrow we are going to make a pit stop at Disney and we always ride Pirates and Haunted mansion – we have season tickets.  The song ends.

The next song is, This is Halloween, from the movie Nightmare Before Christmas by Disney and Tim Burton and the music by Danny Elfman. I’ve never heard this song on the radio either!  I love Nightmare Before Christmas! I love Disney! I think Tim Burton is a creative genius! I love the movie soundtracks of Danny Elfman! I can’t believe this!

I turn to hubby and say, “I can’t believe this! It’s almost like they know I’m coming!”

And he says, “I know. It’s really odd. Did you program the songs you wanted?”

“No!”

“Are you sure, because I’ve never heard that song on the radio.”

“Absolutely sure! This is fantastic! I feel like we entered the Twilight Zone!”

We start singing along. Yes, we know the words to, This is Halloween. Please don’t judge us. I’m sure if you dig deep enough you will find something YOU do that others might find … odd.

The song ends and I eagerly await the next song. What could the geniuses at Disney know I want to hear next?

The next is some ditty with a rumba-kindda sound to it. I don’t like it, neither does hubby. It does not last long so that’s okay. In fact, it’s the shortest song I’ve ever heard.

The next song is just as odd. It’s the sound of beeps and whirls and nothing else. It’s also extremely short. The one after that is … the sound of a telephone ringing.

Hubby says, “Those are your ring tones! The radio is playing all your ring tones! How does it know your ringtones? Why is it playing your ringtones? Where did you plug your phone?”

Okay, so the little whatever-you-are-in-the-dashboard-computer-thinky had synced with my phone.  There was no Disney fairy at some radio station reading my mind and sending me songs of my fancy.  Johnny Depp was not singing the Yo Ho song. It was an impersonator on some ring-tone site I paid  ninety-nine cents to download a while back.  In fact, it’s my main ring-tone. I thought it sounded really familiar.  The, This is Halloween, song is my ring-tone for when Hubby calls. He loves making up new words to the song to make me laugh. So, it’s his song.

This concludes the hap-hazard tale of two blondes walking into a rental car agency.

About Debbie Hill, deborahhillcounselor.com

Wellness Counselor, Author, Photographer, Interested in living a balanced, compassion centered life, travel, spiritual/supernatural issues, history, all things Disney. If that's not eclectic, I don't know what is.

Posted on April 29, 2013, in Are We There Yet? Travel Meanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Amazing! And don’t worry I’m a ginger and I’ve done way worse.

Leave a Reply

