Houston, We have a Problem!

ImageThe oh sh-t moment when life goes from wonderful to dread and we have to act fast. We all have them. Sometimes we handle the situation well and other times, well, we ponder for decades what we could have done differently. Can a person truly be prepared for those problematic moments?

We are all basically hard wired the same way. Note the word basically. It is rare in life when things are one-hundred percent. There are four things we are programmed to do in emergencies. They are flee, fight, freeze or flop. Pretty easy to understand. To flee is to run away from the situation. To fight is to attack the situation head-on. To freeze is to become paralyzed and not able to do much of anything. To flop is to faint.

Which of these tactics a person picks may be the same in all emergencies or can change depending on the circumstances. A woman who suddenly has the strength to lift a car off her child (to fight), might not attack an intruder inside her home. Can we know in advance which behavior we will chose?

Hard to say. The military trains our troops by using repetition. Instilling into them, this is what you do in the following situation. The lives of these people depend upon it. Firefighters, police officers and all other careers where lives are at stake do the same thing. But even then not everyone is able to follow that programming when needed. Why not?

It comes back to all our past experiences. Those experiences become chemical memories in our brains. When a situation occurs similar to a past situation, the brain compares it and acts based on what worked before. No matter how much training a person has, there are times the old experiences will over-ride the current situation. Why? Because, training that your life is in danger is very different from it truly being in danger.

Having said that, there are times, sometimes humorously, when our reactions are way off the mark. Like the picture above where the caveman is using a club to put out a fire. The fire extinguisher is right beside him. This is where feelings step in. Fear, panic and anxiety all play a role in how effective we will behave in an emergency.

Stress produces the same type of reaction. The brain thinks there is a problem. It is either a possible emergency or real emergency and tells us to react. As a result our reactions maybe over the top for the situation. Think about the person who gets road rage because he/she is running late and the person in front is going the speed limit.

Next time you know you are feeling stressed and you find yourself over-reacting (flee, fight, freeze or flop), try to pull yourself together and regroup before reacting. Good questions would be, why am I reacting this way? Is the danger real? How realistic is my thinking? The one I like the best comes from my husband. He says to me, “I think you are reacting to things not in evidence.” Meaning, I’ve either got the cart before the horse or I believe I know what is going to happen without having a crystal ball.

None of us have true knowledge of the future but some of us think we do and base much of our choices and behaviors on this illusion. It can’t be done.

Here’s hoping you have a reaction appropriate day.

About Debbie Hill, deborahhillcounselor.com

Wellness Counselor, Author, Photographer, Interested in living a balanced, compassion centered life, travel, spiritual/supernatural issues, history, all things Disney. If that's not eclectic, I don't know what is.

Posted on April 11, 2013, in Living with PTSD and Chronic Fatigue, Relationships, The Therapist is in and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. My family all the time say that I am wasting my time here at net, except I know I am getting familiarity all the time by reading thes fastidious articles or
    reviews.

  2. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an nervousness over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this hike.

  3. Highly energetic blog, I liked that a lot. Will there be
    a part 2?

  4. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective.

    A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between usability and appearance. I must say you’ve done
    a awesome job with this. Additionally, the blog loads super fast for
    me on Internet explorer. Excellent Blog!

  5. Appreciate this post. Let me try it out.

  6. It’s awesome to visit this web site and reading the views of all friends regarding this piece of writing, while I am also zealous of getting know-how.

  7. If you would like to take a great deal from this paragraph then you
    have to apply such methods to your won blog. Eusebia

  8. It’s hard to come by well-informed people on this subject, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  9. I feel that is one of the most significant information for me.
    And i’m glad studying your article. However want to remark on some general issues, The website style is perfect, the articles is actually great : D. Good process, cheers

  10. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you provide here and can’t wait
    to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .

    . Anyhow, amazing site!

    • Greetings back from Pennsylvania! I’m glad you enjoy the site and find the information interesting. I don’t think the site has anything to do with load speeds. I have 4G and I know that it is also fast when using the phone features. Take care!

  11. I’m interested as well as thinking about what you are currently talking about here.

Leave a Reply

