Therapist Finds Marbles When Digging Pond While Painting

ImageI’m always getting messages from the universe (in various forms) telling me to slow my arse down!  Only apparently I have a very short-term memory.

I got up this morning with an agenda of a doable level of goals. Then I saw a water stain on the wall which reminded me the house needs painting. More specifically, since I’m turning the upper floor into an office, that wall REALLY needs painting. It all went downhill from there. It went like this:

Time: 7:30 a.m.

Me: Well h-ll, not only does that wall need painting but so does that one and that one and sh-t, look at the ceiling! I wonder what colors I should pick?  What mood, what message do I want to send with my paint color choices? I know, I’ll do an internet search.

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Me: Oh crap, look at the time and all I’ve done is look at paint colors on the internet and wait, I did watch a YouTube video from Dr. Oz on how to lose belly fat.  I’m not sure what I clicked to get there, but it was very interesting. Okay, I’ll just pop over to Lowes and get a gallon of paint and spend the day painting. (Forgetting the original goals completely)Image

Time: 10:30 a.m.

Me: Okay, there are way too many colors to pick from. If I get this one than what if… If I get that one that oh man…. Satin or semi gloss? ….. Quart or gallon. Wow, look they have Lilly of the Valley bulbs. I love those! Wouldn’t they look awesome next to the fish pond! And look at all the perennials! Wait a minute; I think I need a paint brush or something. Why is my stomach growling? Did I eat breakfast?

Time: 11:30 a.m.

Me: This is great. I’ve got my paint. I’ll eat a piece of left over pizza which I am sure is not on Dr. Oz belly fat busting program. Oh wait, I think the paint roller is in the garage (which is behind my house, not beside). Let me put this pizza in the microwave and then I’ll just go out and get it

I go outside and see the partially dug hole I started last week for a fish pond.

Me: Crap that looks horrible. I really need to get on that. Let me put down this paint roller and pull out the rototiller and shovel. It won’t take that long to finish rototilling the hole.

Time: 11:45

Rototiller hits massive granite rock. Go back in garage and get trowel. Now sitting in 4×5 foot by 1 foot deep hole.

Me: Wow, this is like when I worked as an archaeological excavator.  I wonder if I’ll find anything? … This is a lot more enjoyable that the rototiller. Better make sure my 4×5 walls are straight (an archaeological thing not needed for digging a hole for a fish pond). Check it out! There’s a marble!

Image

Seven marbles later…..

Me: Okay, that’s apropos that someone once lost their marbles where I’m going to open a mental health office. D-mn I’m thirsty. Okay, just rototill  another small section and I’ll go inside. Sh-t, I’ve got painting to do!

Time: 12:15

Rototiller has hit a long piece of steel wire and it’s now wrapped around the blade axle.  I’ve flipped over the machine and am trying to get the blade off. It ‘s stuck. I have to go to the basement to get the WD-40 and a hammer. I’m now in the basement having traversed through my clean kitchen floor with dirt caked shoes.Image

Me: There’s the WD-40. That was easy enough. Oh look, I forgot to put the clothes in the dryer. Let me just wash my hands and take care of that.

Time: 12:25

Back outside with the rototiller.

Me: You know, maybe this is another of those examples of the universe telling me to slow down. First I hit a rock, I get a steal wire hopelessly wrapped around the axle and now I can’t get the blade off.  I should take a picture of this and blog about it.

I leave the WD-40, the rototiller and go inside tramping dirt all through the house. Get the camera, pen and paper and go back outside.

Me: I wonder what angle I should shoot this? You know, I should take a picture of the fish, because they are the real reason I’m out here in the first place. They managed to make it through the winter in an above ground pond. Least I can do is put their picture on the internet.

Image

Okay, so perhaps, only getting three hours sleep last night is a contributing factor in this morning’s escapade. If I’m honest, probably not by much. So,  I think I’ll make some coffee and slow down. I have the rest of the afternoon to finish. Hey, maybe I’ll paint! But first, I think I’ll re-heat that piece of pizza I put in the microwave a couple hours ago.

About Debbie Hill, deborahhillcounselor.com

Wellness Counselor, Author, Photographer, Interested in living a balanced, compassion centered life, travel, spiritual/supernatural issues, history, all things Disney. If that's not eclectic, I don't know what is.

Posted on April 5, 2013, in Insights, the Greatest Gifts, Misc. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 51 Comments.

  1. You’re so awesome! I don’t think I have read something like that before.
    So nice to discover somebody with a few original thoughts on this subject
    matter. Really.. thanks for starting this up.

    This website is one thing that is needed on the internet,
    someone with a little originality!

  2. Hello there, You’ve done an excellent job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally
    recommend to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from this web site.

  3. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading
    it, you are a great author.I will always bookmark your blog and
    will come back very soon. I want to encourage you to continue your great
    work, have a nice holiday weekend!

  4. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a colleague who
    has been doing a little research on this. And he actually ordered me breakfast simply
    because I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So let me reword this.
    … Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending the time to discuss this subject here
    on your internet site.

  5. I do consider all of the ideas you have offered in your post.
    They’re really convincing and can definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts are very short for novices. Could you please lengthen them a bit from next time? Thank you for the post.

  6. Every weekend i used to pay a quick visit this site, for the reason that
    i wish for enjoyment, since this this site conations genuinely nice
    funny information too.

  7. Hi there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout
    out and say I genuinely enjoy reading through your articles.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same topics?
    Thanks a lot!

  8. After looking into a number of the blog posts on your blog, I honestly appreciate your way of blogging.

    I bookmarked it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back soon.
    Please check out my website as well and let me know what you think.

  9. What’s up to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is getting more from this web page, and your views are fastidious designed for new viewers.

  10. Great info. Lucky me I recently found your blog by chance (stumbleupon).
    I have book-marked it for later!

  11. Ahaa, its pleasant conversation on the topic of this piece of writing here at this webpage,
    I have read all that, so now me also commenting here.

  12. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you are a great author.I will remember to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back very soon. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great job, have a nice morning!

  13. I like it whenever people get together and share views.
    Great site, keep it up!

  14. Hey there! I’ve been following your weblog for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Tx! Just wanted to mention keep up the good job!

  15. It’s difficult to find educated people on this subject, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  16. Howdy I am so thrilled I found your blog, I really found you by error,
    while I was searching on Aol for something else, Regardless I
    am here now and would just like to say cheers for a remarkable post
    and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all
    at the moment but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be
    back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the awesome b.

  17. It’s truly very complex in this busy life to listen news on Television, therefore I just use internet for that reason, and obtain the most up-to-date information.

  18. Hi, i believe that i noticed you visited my web site thus i got here to
    go back the want?.I am attempting to find things to enhance my web site!
    I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  19. I really love your website.. Pleasant colors & theme.
    Did you build this site yourself? Please
    reply back as I’m hoping to create my own personal site and want to learn where you got this from or what the theme is named. Many thanks!

    • Thanks for the comments. If you are talking about the blog site, I’d like to take credit for the site look but it is a template from WordPress. I can’t remember the name of the theme. It’s in their template selection. If you look I’m sure you will find it, if not something you like even better. If you are talking about my website, it is hosted through therapysites, and yes that site I designed myself with a little help from them. Hope that helps. Good luck with your site.

  20. Hello my friend! I want to say that this post is amazing, nice written
    and include approximately all significant infos.
    I would like to see extra posts like this .

  21. Hello great blog! Does running a blog similar to
    this require a massive amount work? I’ve no understanding of programming but I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future. Anyhow, should you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off subject but I just needed to ask. Appreciate it!

    • Thanks for the comments. Blogging can take as little or much work as you are vested in giving. The proof is in the consistency of how often you write and having topics interesting to others. Of course there are blogs that are written for the blogger and not intended for larger audiences. So, it truly depends on what your goals are. My suggestions would be to read many blogs and articles on how to blog. Then figure out what you want to accomplish and dive in. Good luck!

  22. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I am quite certain I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  23. Hi, I do think this is an excellent web site.
    I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to return once again since i have saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

  24. Greate post. Keep writing such kind of information on your page.

    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hi there, You’ve performed a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally suggest
    to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from this web site.

Leave a Reply

