The Healthy Relationship Part 4: What do I Really Want and How do I Get it?

13

I’ve been breaking down basic rules for healthy relationships. In Part 3 we looked at identifying our NEEDS. Now we need to explore our WANTS.

 Ask someone what they want and often they can give you a very quick definitive answer.  But is that answer REALLY what they want?

I can say, “I want chocolate chip cookies.”  This sounds simple enough; however, it really isn’t. In this particular case, I’m watching television and I’m anxious about a meeting I’m having in the morning. I’m not hungry or deprived of sweets but chocolate chip cookies are what hits me that I want.

Knowing what I know about myself and human behavior, I know chocolate chip cookies are not really what I want. I don’t want the calories or the mess of making them. I’m not hungry. So, I start to dissect this WANT. Broken down, it looked like this:

  • I want chocolate chip cookies, more specifically
  • I want chocolate, more specifically
  • I want to stop feeling anxious, more specifically
  • I want to not go to this meeting tomorrow, more specifically
  • I want to feel I have more control over the outcome of tomorrow’s meeting, more specifically
  • I want to feel more confident in my ability to handle the unknown of tomorrow’s meeting

 Why is this important to me? Because I see myself as self-reliant, intelligent and due to my past, I have a strong need to feel in control.  When I get into situations where I can’t be or do these, I get anxious and feel out of balance. I need to do something to feel back into balance.

As I’m watching TV, my brain jumps to the old stand-by, carbohydrates! They are the building blocks of changing the body chemistry for a short period of time. Will chocolate chip cookies help me feel self-reliant, intelligent and in control? NO! They will only make me feel fatter and give me more dishes to clean.  Making and eating chocolate chip cookies is a horrible plan to get my needs and wants met. It’s time to plan another strategy. Instead of cooking and eating chocolate chip cookies, I can take that energy and plan a healthier way to prepare for this meeting.

 When you know your real wants, you can better evaluate what behaviors you are choosing to accomplish your want.  So, step one is to EXPLORE what your REAL WANT is. Step two is to EVALUATE if the behaviors you are choosing will get you closer to that goal. Step three, if the answer to step two is no, INVESTIGATE other options. Get more information. Think about in the past, what you might have done that did work in a similar situation. Step four, make a PLAN and follow through.

In my case, I had to address the demons in my thinking. I had to explore the negative images and thoughts I was allowing to run amok in my brain. My poor body was only reacting to my thoughts. The result was anxiety and the desire to feel better through food.  I also had to relax, journal and start saying a positive mantra.

Patterns of behavior do not change overnight, but you have to start somewhere. I was still anxious, but much more in control of me, feeling more self-reliant because I took the steps and therefore feeling more intelligent and back in balance.

If your behavior (thinking, feeling or acting) does not get a need met or a want achieved, a re-evaluation is in order. More than likely, what you think you want is only the surface-want or you are using the wrong behaviors to get you there.  Dig a little deeper and do the steps.

About Debbie Hill, deborahhillcounselor.com

Wellness Counselor, Author, Photographer, Interested in living a balanced, compassion centered life, travel, spiritual/supernatural issues, history, all things Disney. If that's not eclectic, I don't know what is.

Posted on March 19, 2013, in Relationships, The Therapist is in and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 48 Comments.

  1. Hey I am so thrilled I found your web site, I really found you by error,
    while I was researching on Askjeeve for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like
    to say thank you for a tremendous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

  2. Definitely consider that that you stated. Your favorite justification seemed to
    be on the net the easiest factor to have in mind of. I say to
    you, I definitely get irked while folks think about worries that they just
    do not recognize about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the
    highest and defined out the entire thing with no need side effect , other people
    could take a signal. Will likely be again to get more.

    Thank you

  3. I quite like reading a post that can make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  4. I was suggested this blog by means of my cousin.
    I’m no longer certain whether or not this submit is written by him as nobody else recognise such specific approximately my problem. You’re wonderful!
    Thanks!

  5. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads
    up. The words in your post seem to be running off the screen in Safari.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The design and style look great though! Hope you get the problem fixed
    soon. Thanks

  6. Hello to all, how is the whole thing, I think
    every one is getting more from this website, and your views are good for new visitors.

  7. I am not sure where you are getting your information, but great topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.

    Thanks for great information I was looking for this info for my mission.

  8. Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment
    (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any helpful hints for inexperienced blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  9. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post.
    Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

  10. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the web
    the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people consider worries that
    they just do not know about. You managed to hit the
    nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects
    , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.

    Thanks

  11. Hey there! I simply wish to offer you a big thumbs up for the excellent info you’ve got right here on this post. I’ll be
    coming back to your website for more soon.

  12. I pay a quick visit daily a few blogs and sites to
    read articles or reviews, except this web site offers feature
    based posts.

  13. Hello there, I found your website by way of Google even as looking for a related subject, your web site came up,
    it appears great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, simply became aware of your blog through Google, and
    found that it is really informative. I’m going to be careful for brussels. I will appreciate for those who proceed this in future. A lot of people might be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  14. When I originally left a comment I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and
    now every time a comment is added I receive 4
    emails with the exact same comment. Is there a way you are able to remove me
    from that service? Many thanks!

  15. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon every day.
    It will always be interesting to read through content from
    other authors and practice something from other websites.

  16. I go to see every day a few sites and blogs to read posts,
    but this webpage presents quality based content.

  17. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

  18. Hi! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa?
    My blog addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I think we could greatly benefit
    from each other. If you’re interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

  19. Hi! I’ve been reading your blog for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the good work!

  20. Everyone loves what you guys are up too. This sort of clever work
    and exposure! Keep up the good works guys I’ve included you guys to my own blogroll.

  21. Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to
    generate a top notch article… but what can I say… I
    put things off a whole lot and don’t seem to get anything done.

  22. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?

    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of
    your web site is magnificent, as well as the content!

  23. Link exchange is nothing else except it is just placing the other person’s website link on your page at suitable place and other person will also do similar in support of you.

  24. Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on
    the internet the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you,
    I certainly get annoyed while people consider worries that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

