Life’s Little Instruction Manual Part 1: THE HEALTHY RELATIONSHIP

ImageWouldn’t it be nice if people came with instruction manuals? For that matter, it would be nice if we came with our own instruction manual!  If you had a manual do you think you could have a more positive relationship with yourself and those around you?  You might be surprised to learn you don’t need a lengthy manual, only a couple index cards of information.

 Its basic information that unfortunately most people are not taught. Consequently, most of humanity wanders around with blinders preventing them from experiencing a more fulfilling life.  The end result is attempting several ways of doing things with often minimal positive end. For example, the person who when angry gives the silent treatment to the person they feel responsible for their anger. This solves nothing, gains nothing and puts a chip in the relationship.  With each chip, the relationship becomes more dysfunctional. Despite seeing this happen, the angry person continues to give the silent treatment and is surprised when the relationship sours.  Why would a person do this? Because they don’t have those index cards I talked about.

 So, here is your first card:

 

  • 1.      People can only act and react (thinking, feeling, and doing) based on what they know.

Sounds simplistic but it must not be.  Every day we expect others to act and react the way we do or we want them to based on the information we have.  

 Examples:

   Expectation Comment: “If you loved me, you would have brought me chocolate donuts with sprinkles.”

     Reaction Comment: “I brought you flowers. I thought that meant I loved you. How was I to know chocolate donuts with sprinkles meant love?”

 Expectation Comment:  “You should know better than to leave the house with the oven in clean mode. Everyone knows it can cause a fire!”

 Reaction Comment: “I didn’t know the oven could catch fire in clean mode! I’ve never cleaned the oven before, how would I know that?”

 Expectation Comment: “Can’t you do anything right? Do I have to do everything around here? Can’t you even put the dishes in the dishwasher correctly?”

 Reaction Comment: “Is there a correct way to put the dishes in the dishwasher? Fine, you can do it. I was just trying to help. See if I do that again.”

 Do you want to be shocked and amazed? Spend one day really paying attention to the number of times you expect a person to act and react to information you have and assume they should too. While you are at it, spend another day paying attention to how you act and react when someone hits you with the same assumptions. 

About Debbie Hill, deborahhillcounselor.com

Wellness Counselor, Author, Photographer, Interested in living a balanced, compassion centered life, travel, spiritual/supernatural issues, history, all things Disney. If that's not eclectic, I don't know what is.

Posted on March 7, 2013, in Relationships, The Therapist is in and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. food4thesoul93

    Reblogged this on Food 4 The Soul 93 and commented:
    This says a lot!

  2. Reblogged this on Rites of the Image and commented:
    Do read this..

  3. I reblogged it as I was thinking this way last night… lack of imagination is part of the proble, on both sides.And a woman may ask for help but a man who has never done a rask before will nit be able to know exactly the right method or how perfectionist his wife may be and vice versa

  4. Greetings I am so excited I found your webpage, I
    really found you by mistake, while I was researching on Google for something else, Regardless I am
    here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a tremendous post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the superb job.

  5. From: Ogrodzenia I am a extensive schedule in the past I study your blog and it has lengthy been stating that you are a excessive author

  6. Hi, Neat publish. Near’s a problem with your situate in internet explorer, would check this… That is still is the advertise place chief along with a bulky percentage of people can fail to notice the superb prose for this reason problem.

  7. Excellent site you have here but I was curious about if you knew of
    any user discussion forums that cover the same topics talked about in this article?
    I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get comments from other knowledgeable people that share
    the same interest. If you have any suggestions,
    please let me know. Cheers!

  8. Attractive portion of content. I simply stumbled upon your site
    and in accession capital to claim that I acquire actually enjoyed account your
    blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing on your feeds or even I fulfillment you get admission to consistently quickly.

  9. Hello. Just desired to say how much I appreciate the data that is
    shared below.

  10. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after reading through some of the
    post I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found it
    and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

  11. Thank you a lot for sharing this with all folks you actually understand what you’re speaking approximately!

    Bookmarked. Please also visit my site =). We could have a link
    exchange contract among us

Leave a Reply

